Programs & Courses
Financial Aid

Northwest Community College celebrates student award winners

Northwest Community College (NWCC) awarded approximately $83,000 in internal and external awards to a total of 102 students from across the College region this fall. The awards and recipients include: Skidegate's James Crawford, now in second year of the First Nations Fine Arts Diploma program, won the Brian Loptson Bursary. Prince Rupert University Credit student Kaeleen Foote won two awards: the Irving K. Barber Transfer Scholarship and the Vancouver Foundation Alma VanDusen Award. Prince Rupert boasted a handful of double award winners. Kirby John (Alma VanDusen Award and BC Hydro Bursary); Amy Kernachan (Eric Buss Award and Phyllis and Carment Tennant Memorial Award); Meghan MacRae (Michael Kelly Bursary Award and Skeena Cellulose Bursary); and Shatasha Wesley (Vancouver Foundation and Harold Scanlon Foley Award) each were picked for a pair of awards. At $5,000, four Terrace-based students each claimed the richest individual awards handed out this year (along with Prince Ruperts Foote). Sarah Palahicky, an NWCC Bachelor of Science in Nursing student, also earned the Irving K. Barber Award. Three students from the Freda Diesing School of Northwest Coast Art each earned the $5,000 YVR Art Foundation Award, which also comes with a one-year exhibit of their art at Vancouver International Airport. They were: repeat winner and graduate Sophia Beaton, first-year student Latham Mack and Shawn Aster, the program graduate who also won the Dempsey Bob Lifetime Achievement Award. Also, Gary Hill (First Nations Fine Arts Diploma student) received the Frieda Diesing Award. Cody Robinson of Kitimat made his first year at NWCC a little easier, winning a $2,000 Entrance Scholarship for academic excellence in Grade 12 at Mount Elizabeth Senior Secondary School. Hazelton Culinary Arts student Tania Gawa earned an award for a second straight year. She received the Alma VanDusen Award. Two Smithers students and one each from Telkwa and Houston campuses received awards. In Smithers, Amy deHoog won the Don Anderson Memorial Award and first-year student Hilary Holosko won an Entrance Scholarship. Telkwas Nicole Rousseau and Houstons Lyndsey Woodcock each won the $2,500 Minerva Foundation Award for BC Women. Awards were handed out at recent luncheons at the NWCC campuses. To find out more about the awards and bursaries handed out by NWCC, go to

Current News Story 
« Back to All News Articles